A look upwards

Bugis, Masjid Sultan, Singapore

[masjid sultan, singapore]

At the fringes of City Hall, along the sub-hub of Bugis, is Arab Street. Rising out of the buzz of middle-eastern food and niche boutiques is this mosque. You’ll hear the deep drone of prayers every day around noon, I think, a cascade over workers and young students; a constant centre as all else whirrs on.

It’s a nice disorientation as I walk by it, a respite from the corporate office.

One day, the sky loomed low, a dull grey, and forced my gaze that much more upwards.

The outline of a sacred home against heaven.

One thought on “A look upwards

  1. Usually there are several interesting deadlines with this article however I don’t see whether I see all of them heart to
    heart. There could be some validity but Let me take maintain opinion till I seek out
    it further. Good article , thanks and we’d like extra! Along with FeedBurner as nicely

Leave a Reply

